BBoy Knowledge

Icon

Always Stay A Student Of This Dance

Ken Swift On BBoy

Anybody that thinks they are Bboys are very excited about the lifestyle and kind of like models them selves to somebody. So somebody has made this young men or young lady want to be so bad a Bboy and they dress it and they Break it, learn everything they can about it, but a lifestyle of a Bboy or a Bgirl is very simplified but it’s intense. You need to understand the whole philosophy and mind state of the art to become a Bboy. Bboy is a lost art, lost terminology because everybody calls themselves a Bboy. And it’s a cool word but that doesn’t mean you are. The way you dress, they way you dance. They are so much involved to it with the lifestyle and I can say that because when I was 12 or 13 years old, I was living the lifestyle. Not knowing that I would be sitting here right now. So it’s okay to everybody wanting to call themselves Bboys, but at the same time always understand that you always have to be a student and the more you research( Bboys tradition, New, Old) you get more information, the more you might get closer to become a real Bboy. Because a lot of people aren’t Breakers, they call Breakdances and that’s okay because Breaking is about understanding the history, understanding music, the way you dress, the way you approach the dance to it, they way you approach your Toprock and they way you approach your text, the way you finish and the way you leave, you have it all day. Just put on a Bboy hat and then go home and put the pop corn hat on and put your stripe socks and then next week you got your House shirt but.. a Bboy is only a Bboy. A dancer is a dancer, I consider myself a Bboy that I dance the style of Bboy, I don’t consider myself really a dancer. A Bboy is a dancer but I don’t do all the dance styles. I think a person that Locks today, Pops tomorrow Boogalooes next day, Breaks, Uprocks; that’s a great dancer because you can go and put on any hat and do any dance. I never had that ability. The only dance I ever lived and always studied is Breaking. So I see myself as a Bboy, I don’t have an identity crisis. I’m not trying to like I don’t know who I wanna be, I know who I wanna be. It’s okay to dance all the styles, but that’s not me. In order to be a Bboy, you have to live it everyday. Break Life!

Ken Swift

Filed under: BBoy, , ,

Leave a comment

Pages

Archives